Highlight words on this page  

State Listings of Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Insurance Claims


Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
the time period within which you can bring a lawsuit for personal injuries

 

State

Length of Limitation

Code Number

State Website Link

Alabama

2 years

Title 6, Ch. 2, 6-2-38

State Website Link

Alaska

2 years

Sec. 9.10.070

State Website Link

Arizona

2 years

Title 12, Article 3, Sec. 12-542

State Website Link

Arkansas

3 years

Secs. 16-56-104, 16-56-105, 16-114-203, 16-62-102

State Website Link

California

2 years

Code of Civ. Proc. Sec. 335.1, 340

State Website Link

Colorado

2 years

Colo. Rev. Stat. Sec. 13-80-102

State Website Link

Connecticut

2 years

Conn. Gen. State. Sec. 52-584

State Website Link

Delaware

2 years

Title 10, Ch. 81, Sec. 8119

State Website Link

DC

3 years

Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 12-301

State Website Link

Florida

4 years

Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11

State Website Link

Georgia

2 years

Sec. 9-3-33

State Website Link

Hawaii

 2 years

Rev. Stat. Sec. 657.7

State Website Link

Idaho

2 years

Title 5, Ch. 2, Sec. 5-219

State Website Link

Illinois

2 years

Ch. 735, Act 5, Art 13, Sec. 13-202

State Website Link

Indiana

2 years

Title 34, Art. 11, Ch. 2, Sec. 34-11-2-4

State Website Link

Iowa

2 years

Chapter 614, Section 614.1

State Website Link

Kansas

2 years

Chapter 60, Art 5, Sec. 60-513

State Website Link

Kentucky

1 year

Title 36, Chapter 413, Sec. 413.140

State Website Link

Louisiana

1 year

Ci. Code. Art. 3492

State Website Link

Maine

6 years

Title 14,Part 2, Ch. 205, Sub. 1, Sec. 752

State Website Link

Maryland

3 years

Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Sec. 5-101

State Website Link

Massachusetts

3 years

Title 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4

State Website Link

Michigan

3 years

Chapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 9

State Website Link

Minnesota

2 years

Ch. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07

State Website Link

Mississippi

3 years

Title 15, Ch. 1, Sec. 15-1-49

State Website Link

Missouri

5 years

Title 35, Ch. 516, Sec. 516.120

State Website Link

Montana

3 years

Title 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 and 27-2-207

State Website Link

Nebraska

4 years

Title 25, Section 207, 25-207

State Website Link

Nevada

2 years

Chapter 11, Sec 11.190

State Website Link

New Hampshire

3 years

Chapter 508, Sec. 508.4

State Website Link

New Jersey

2 years

Title 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2

State Website Link

New Mexico

3 years

Ch. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8

State Website Link

New York

3 years

Civil Practice Laws and Rules, Art. 2, Sec. 214

State Website Link

N. Carolina

3 years

Title 1, Section 1-52

State Website Link

N. Dakota

6 years; 2 years in wrongful death

Title 28, Ch. 1, Secs. 28-01-16 and 28-01-18

State Website Link

Ohio

2 years

Title 23, Ch. 5, Sec. 2305.10

State Website Link

Oklahoma

2 years

Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 95

State Website Link

Oregon

2 years

Ch. 12, Sec. 12.110

State Website Link

Pennsylvania

2 years

42 PA Con. Stat. Section 5524

State Website Link

Rhode Island

3 years

Title 9, Ch. 1, Sec. 9-1-14

State Website Link

S. Carolina

3 years

Title 15, Ch. 3, Sec. 15-3-530

State Website Link

S. Dakota

3 years

Title 15, Ch. 2, Sec. 15-2-14

State Website Link

Tennessee

1 year

Title 28, Ch. 3, Sec. 28-3-104

State Website Link

Texas

2 years

Civ. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Ch. 16, Sec. 16.003

State Website Link

Utah

4 years

Title 78, Ch. 12, Sec. 78-12-25

State Website Link

Vermont

3 years

Title 12, Part 2, Ch. 23, Subch. 2, Sec. 512

State Website Link

Virginia

2 years

Title 8.01, Ch. 4, Sec. 8.01-243

State Website Link

Washington

3 years

Title 4, Ch. 16, Sec. 4.16.080

State Website Link

West Virginia

2 years

Title 55, Ch. 2, Sec. 55-2-12

State Website Link

Wisconsin

3 years

Chapter 893, Sec. 893.54

State Website Link

Wyoming

4 years

Title 1, Ch. 3, Sec. 1-3-105

State Website Link